Leisure Battery System & General Electrics

Home Forum topic Campervan Conversions Leisure Battery System & General Electrics

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    KieranC
    Participant

Hi folks,

So I’m at the stage of figuring out how to power and wire my 1999 transit van… Unfortunately I am a complete novice in this area and help would be much appreciated!!

I’ve calculated my power usage (W/V=A) and decided that 2x 125ah batteries would give me sufficient power to last at least 3/4 days at maximum usage.

The main aim of the system will be to power 6x led lights, phone & laptop chargers, refrigerator ignition (run on gas) and occasionally other higher wattage appliances such as an electric blanket or a sound system. I also have a 600w inverter should I need to run any 240v appliances. To allow me to use/charge multiple items at once I plan to fit two 12v 3-way splitters and have a 4-way splitter for my inverter.

I aim to charge the batteries using a voltage sensitive relay, which as I understand connects via one wire to my engine battery and then via a second to my leisure batteries.

My alternator creates 95A per hour, although the way I understand it this is dependent on the van running at something like 60mph and would create considerably less should the van simply be left ticking over at 0mph. Also I understand that the age of the vehicle suggests that its efficiency will have dropped.

I am considering buying a battery to battery charger which claims it can up the charge by 5x. So assuming my van creates 25A when ticking over it would take 5hrs to recharge by 125A WITHOUT this charger but only 1hr WITH it. Sounds worthwhile?

I understand that wiring a voltmeter into the system will tell me how much power is remaining in my batteries and that it would be good to fit a fuse box and a residual current device to protect the batteries from electrical damage and to stop a single appliance tripping the whole system.