Complete Newbie

Home Forum topic Introduce Yourself Complete Newbie

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Badger_Lady
    Participant

Hia,

I’m based in Wales and am in the process of buying my first camper… and seriously considering converting it myself.

I travel alone and don’t have a driveway, so I’ve been looking at real compact vans like the Bedford Rascal / Suzuki Supercarry or the Diahatsu Hijet. But each of the converted ones for sale has a design flaw (in my opinion), and I’d like to get it 100% right.

Having said that, I have no real mechanical or construction experience and have a history of getting bored halfway through projects. So this could be a terrible idea…

The advantage of starting with a Diahatsu Hijet base vehicle, of course, is that it’s a car rather than van, so there is already lighting, heating and windows in the back. I would need to put in a poptop. I’m still unclear whether it would need much more insulation. And of course I’d need to sort out a leisure batter / rewiring / gas etc…

Anyway, I’ll start posting questions in the appropriate parts of the forum, but hello until then!

Badger

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  1. looking around at every model
    Hi there Everyone, my name is Debs i live in Eastbourne down by the coast, i have a small family of just 3, Mike my hubby and josh our son whos just 5. we Started camping before Josh was born, and now we have a family tent, alswys looked at the motorhome, the campervans. We like to go the N.E.C in Birmingham, like we did last October 2009, there it opened our eyes to what u see, and get for your money.

We have hired a motorhome out for a week, cost a lot of money as well, and a pain in the bum, when u can hear all the plates etc rattle around, me having TINNITUS RINGING IN THE EARS WAS A RIGHT NIGHTMARE TOO.