Gas or electric ?

Home Forum topic Campervan Conversions Gas or electric ?

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    donaldmac
    Participant

Hi everyone

I have a transit lwb medium roof minibus which i am going to convert into a very cheap and cheerful camper, my original plan was to fit a diesel burning night heater but i’ve had some bad experiences in the past with old night heaters so now i’m thinking gas, i’ve heard that gas heaters in a camper have got to be inspected by gas engineer, does anyone know if this is true ? i am also considering using electric heating as i am fitting a small leasure battery and probably an inverter (i know this is a rubbish way to heat a camper but i’m looking for something simple and easily removable) i’m planning on using my trusty little portable gas cooker for all my cooking needs so i don’t want to bother with bottled gas unless i have to.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  1. Insulation is important.

Insulation is important.  Doing it properly when building makes a huge difference to keeping the vehicle warm, and it makes the inside much quieter.

Wood burners are great if you intend to live in the van.  They take a bit of room, require a bit of fiddly fitting, and you need to carry wood.  They pump out a lot of heat, and will keep you warm all night.  Great for free camping in the cold, but some campsites won’t let you use them as they give off smoke.

Gas heaters are best for short trips, or occasional cold weather.  They tend to be smaller and easy to fit.  A good idea is to get one that runs off your spare/main has bottle.  Then you greatly reduce the amount of things to carry.  You can just get out the heater and hook it up when you need it.  You do need to keep a window open slightly though, to allow the burnt toxic gasses to escape.

As allsorts says, making a cup of tea will warm the van really quickly.

2. Good isulation is the