Adding an awning track to a regular (non-conversion, no raised roof) cargo van?

Home Forum topic Campervan Conversions Adding an awning track to a regular (non-conversion, no raised roof) cargo van?

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    bholder
    Participant

Hi, I’m a newbie here, not sure this is the right place for this kind of question – if not, please redirect me – I have a 1996 Ford E150 Econoline cargo van, not looking to do a full conversion, just a few simple things. I’m currently trying to figure out how to mount an awning track on a non-conversion (no raised roof) van – can anyone help? Is it even possible / advisable? I had one guy at a camper conversion place tell me to forget about it already, is he right? It seems like there ought to be a way.

The problem would seem to be there’s no usable vertical side wall above the sliding door on which to mount the awning track. I figured maybe I could mount it to the edge of the roof using a piece of stainless angle iron to get it back to the correct orientation. I’m pretty handy with such things, I own an old sailboat, so I’m familiar with how to seal things up again.

So should I just forget about it? Or is there a way?

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
  1. Awning
    I have a Toyota Hiace and there is nothing above the door to fix an awning. I bought a drive away awning – tent with adjustable side to fix to the van. It can attach to C section awning rail, use long straps to go over the roof and peg down on the opposite side of the van, or using a pole that comes with it strap onto roof rail, or roof rack fixings. To drive off it takes a couple of minutes to unattach

2. Nick Devonport June 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Econoline Awning